The joint session on Wednesday passes the Election Amendment Bill 2021 and the bill related to the use of electronic voting machine (EVM) and allowed the overseas Pakistanis to vote in General Elections.

As many as 221 lawmakers voted in favour of the movement while 203 voted against it.

Adviser to the Prime Minister on Parliamentary Affairs Babar Awan tabled the motion regarding the Election Amendment Bill 2021. The amendment to the electronic voting machine approved section-wise. The amendments proposed by Senator Mushtaq Ahmed and Senator Sherry Rehman were rejected by the House.

Meanwhile, the government also got approved the law in favour of Kulbhushan Jadhav. The bills pertaining to the registration of welfare institutions, State Bank Banking Services Bill, National College of Arts Institute Bill, Muslim Family Amendment Ordinance and Anti Rape (Investigation and Trial) Ordinance were also approved.

On the objection of Senator Taj Haider, National Assembly Speaker Asad Qaisar ordered recounting. However, the opposition protested against recounting.

Unpleasant situation was witnessed in the House, with members pushing each other and exchanging hot words with each other. The opposition members tore the copies of the agenda and threw them towards the speaker. The Sergeant Arms besieged Prime Minister Imran Khan for security reasons